Presently, New Mexico tops the nation in its reliance on private prisons and is also home to three large privately run ICE detention centers. According to New Mexico Corrections Department, the state has 15 prisons and detention centers representing 12021 incarceration beds. Of those, 7 are private facilities representing 7247 incarceration beds. 60% of New Mexico's incarceration capacity is composed of private facilities.

Name City County Type Manager Capacity
Central New Mexico Correctional Facility (CNMCF) Los Lunas Valencia Prison State: NMDC 1287
Cibola County Correctional Center (CCCC) Milan Cibola ICE Private: CoreCivic 1129
Guadalupe County Correctional Facility (GCCF) Santa Rosa Guadalupe Prison Private: GeoGroup 610
Lea County Correctional Facility (LCCF) Hobbs Lea Prison Private: GeoGroup 1266
Northeast New Mexico Detention Facility (NNMDF) Clayton Union Prison State: NMDC 625
Northwest New Mexico Correctional Center (NNMCC) Grants Cibola Prison Private: CoreCivic 823
Otero County Prison Facility (OCPF) Chaparral Otero Prison Private: MTC 1420
Otero County Processing Center (OCPC) Chaparral Otero ICE Private: MTC 1089
Penitentiary of New Mexico (PNM) Santa Fe Santa Fe Prison State: NMDC 906
Roswell Correctional Center (RCC) Hagerman Chaves Prison State: NMDC 340
Southern New Mexico Correctional Facility (SNMCF) Las Cruces Dona Ana Prison State: NMDC 752
Springer Correctional Center (SCC) Springer Colfax Prison State: NMDC 424
Torrance County Detention Facility (TCDF) Estancia Torrance ICE Private: CoreCivic 910
Western New Mexico Correctional Facility (WNMCF) Grants Cibola Prison State: NMDC 440